misunderstanding each other since 2003

Fence Archive

22. Istanbul, May 2016





 Jonathan Meth and Hakan Silahsızoğlu held planning meetings with Leman Yilmaz (IKSV Theatre Festival Director) in New York, Edinburgh, London and Istanbul.

 In May, Leman provided 3 nights’ accommodation, food and tickets to shows for 40 participants.

Eurodram held its Annual Heads of Committee Meeting and made preparations for an EU Creative Europe funding application. Fence and Eurodram members were able to learn more about each others’ work, Sarah Grochala replaced Jonathan Meth as Head of the Eurodram English language committee.

Playwright and Public Space

There was a curated engagement with Turkish playwrights to explore the prototype of the Playwright and Public Space project, and also a session with the Turkish dramaturgs to explore the issue of censorship.

 We collaborated with Yeşim Özsoy Gülan who is the artistic director of Galata Perform, who sourced a number of the participating Turkish playwrights.

We met with Esra Aysun at The British Council to explain our ideas for the Playwright and Public Space project and the feedback we had received from the meeting held with Turkish playwrights to test the idea.

We also met with Mehmet Ergen who runs Talimhane Tiyatrosu in Istanbul to secure his support for the project. From the feedback we received, there is considerable interest in pursuing this project, with a number of very good and cogent questions raised in the process of testing the idea.

The next step will be for Jonathan, Hakan and Leman to meet and review progress. With the news this week of the attempted coup d’etat, this will allow us to determine whether / how we are able to operate. In many ways the need for this kind of project is now more pressing. But also potentially more risky to deliver. This will be the focus of our next joint reflections.

Istanbul ISKV – Fence – Eurodram Participants

Oladipo Agboluaje - UK Mirza Metin - Turkey
Peter Arnott - Scotland Neda Nejdana - Ukraine
Halil Babür - TurkeyJeton Neziraj - Kosovo
Wolfgang Barth - Germany Ahmet Sami Özbudak - Turkey
Henning Bochert - Germany Aiste Ptakauskaite - Lithuania
Gilles Boulan - France Sarah Punshon - UK
Samuel Buggeln - USA Henriette Ritveld - Netherlands/UK
Dan Bye - UK Clara Schwartzenberg - France
Ebru Nihan Celkan - Turkey Malgorzata Semil - Poland
Lilach Deke - Avneri Sara Shaarawi - Egypt / Scotland
Nicole Desjardins - Germany Kazem Sharyari - France
Nicole Desjardins - Germany Frédéric Sicamois - Italy
Dominique Dolmieu - France Hakan Silahsizoglu - Turkey
Amin Elsaleh - France Jitka Sloupova - Czech Republic
Andreas Flourakis - Greece Ulrike Syha - Germany
Fred Fortas - France Şenay Tanrıverdi - Turkey
Gabriel Gbadamosi - UK Pino Tierno - Italy/Israel
Andras Gerevich - Hungary Dimitar Uzunov - Bulgaria/France
Sarah Grochala - UK Andreea Valeean - Romania
Radoslava Kuneva - Bulgaria Adam Versenyi - USA
Anna Lengyel - Hungary Maria Joao Vicente - Portugal
Carolina Mano - Portugal Zohar Wexler - France /Israel
Sami Berat Marçalı - TurkeyÖzen Yula - Turkey
Jonathan Meth - UK Malou de Roy van Zuydewijn - Netherlands